Detention officers charged

ROCK SPRINGS – Three Sweetwater County detention officers have been charged with misdemeanor battery stemming from an altercation with a juvenile inmate in Rock Springs.

Sweetwater County Sheriff Rich Haskell identified the detention officers as Elizabeth Lopez, Matt Weber and Leeland Reese.

Haskell said the charges against them stemmed from an incident involving a 16-year-old male that occurred last November.

The three detention officers have returned to duty, but one has since provided notice of resignation.

The three officers are scheduled for an initial appearance in Circuit Court in Rock Springs at a later date.

Older stories can be found under Sites of interest

Under the old cosgoingwrong link On the right side of the home page.